553. July 26…(INTENTION’s Story)…..Today I’d like a _____________ and hopefully we can __________ early so I can go home and__________ with a__________

“Times were Wasted”, ©2011 Robert Redus

“Innocence: I am only stepping on your face because it lies in my path.” – Mason Cooley

I had aquariums for many years….I used them as a way of calming myself down after I’d spent an entire day…living in the greater frenzy than the normal frenzy of my life…I’d go home…walk into the living room and immediately sit on the floor…and stare…endlessly into a 110 gallon lit-up world of complete fantasy…

I’d named most all of the fish I liked…there was… “Big Ed”…. “Great White”…. “Smooch”…then a group of Blood Tetras all named… “The Boys”… I could see they lived in a very predictable world…some were inclined to live on the “Top” of the water…while others lived “Mid-level”…then there were those that were the true “Bottom Feeders”…each was unique in that they had a specific nature that was equal to that of their placement in the water…they looked like where they lived….

I look at people and wonder what they… “look”… like…I like to make up stories and dialogue…that might go with their lips moving in the car next to me…the great thing is I’ll never know…and my story is the only one I know…and the likelihood of it being true…is not very likely…unless they are raging angry or dripping with passion…and still my story may get close….but never accurate…

the word intention means… “an act or instance of determining mentally upon some action or result.”… the origin of the word is… from the Latin word “Intendere”…. in- “toward” + tendere “to stretch”…

when we make something we have a reason for making it…as well as an intention…might be the intention is minimal…or over the top…also might be the intention is subdued…or very obvious…but any way intention comes about…it is difficult if not impossible to develop something artistically without intention….

a painting has a life of it’s own…infused with the artists ideas…and a long dance has ensued to get from point “A” to point “B-Z”…yet in that time the external shell of the intention may have changed many times over…but it’s hard to eliminate the “Original” intention…the one that decided you’d be swimming only on the bottom with this painting…sure there’ve been a few swims to the top…but where is where you decided to be…

that being said…once that painting gets some wall space…and your story hangs along with it…does what you want to say communicate through the work?…if it does…some part of the success of the work has been reached…if it does not…the story has a number of blank spaces that anyone can and will fill in with what feels good to them….their truth about what they see as your truth….and it’s going to match…not necessarily what you want but rather what they want…

it is important to know what you want to say in your work…. that thread seems to remain a constant in the future works…until it does not…but until that happens…it’s a good idea to make your story where it doesn’t scream and it doesn’t whisper…it just makes people want to get close enough to ask…

what part of the aquarium are you living in….these days….

“Everything that is strong in me has gone into my art work.” – Robert Crumb

2 thoughts on “553. July 26…(INTENTION’s Story)…..Today I’d like a _____________ and hopefully we can __________ early so I can go home and__________ with a__________

  1. I find it interesting how we each define our place as artists…styles we work in…subjects etc…and that draw to those specifically…but I know what ever I’m drawn towards…my intention led me there long before I got there…

    Like

Leave a Reply

