567. Exactness…doesn’t have to be that close…

"Any Morning USA" ©Robert Redus 2011

“An approximate answer to the right problem is worth a good deal more than an exact answer to an approximate problem.” – John Tukey

growing up I never liked the game “Twister”….I knew it was all about fun…yet the compromising positions as a prepubescent teen…made me question the workings of my deodorant…mouthwash… and certainly the Jean Nate Body Splash…it came in a tall yellowish bottle with a black top…slightly astringent…refreshing and clearly fragrant as anything available on the market at that time… I especially liked the script on the bottle…very daring and assertive…I’d fallen for the advertising that had convinced me that if I used the product…I would also be daring…assertive and have an exceptionally artistic signature…

as I recall I sang a great deal then…mostly the Happenings….”See you in September”…or Muddy Waters… “Got My Mojo Working”…frequently…anything by Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes…of course depending on the way things were…

there was an exactness that always existed…even when nothing was accurate or even close to clearly defined…yet it mattered…

over a lifetime…that exactness has given way  to something much more delectable…more predictably unpredictable …in that it now is almost exact…or close to it…or sometimes further away from it…or not even close to it…at all…so what I’m saying is the exactness…just doesn’t matter much any  more…or any less…

there is some real freedom in the puzzle pieces that were made poorly…and don’t fit at all…so the question becomes is the actual puzzle important…the fit or the image…these days the image is what I look for…then the fit and finally the puzzle itself…I like to think of the image as the waterfall…moving in reverse…sort of puts it in a more understandable perspective…after all…. I do know where it’s eventually going…to end up….I think….

and playing twister…well it doesn’t really matter if it’s color blindness or a bad breakup with Jean Nate…they’re just big dots…and a plastic game board with the unpredictable in the arrow….

“In France one must adapt oneself to the fragrance of a urinal.” – Gertrude Stein

One thought on “567. Exactness…doesn’t have to be that close…

Leave a Reply

