590. January 25, 2012….The real problem with…

"High Wires" ©Robert Redus,2012

“Education is an admirable thing, but it is well to remember from time to time that nothing that is worth knowing can be taught.” – Oscar Wilde

Charles Osgood said, “There is no exception to the rule, that everyone wants to be an exception to the rule“…he is as right as it gets…each of us comes to the table with these great ideas…at some point or another…and really  more often than we realize…these great ideas…if we’d just think about them for a few days  before we burp them out like a thanksgiving belch…we’d hide ourselves in shame thinking that…”That” idea had any merit…and was doable…unless of course it’s doable… because we are who we are and we’re doing it….or not…

we either know everything or nothing…we have either done everything or done nothing…we are certain we’re going to do it but do it when the time is right….we either speak a bunch of languages or can’t talk to the drive up window microphone in complete sentences…we often profess when we should confess…our fragile delicate ego does not allow us to be anything but mostly right….and mostly all of the time….we can open businesses because we like what the business is about…and somehow think that the connection to liking the business somehow opens the portal to understanding P&L statements…financial forecasting…taxes and developing a good sound…workable business plan…oh and we have $63.00 in savings…when we still struggle with “Does business have a, ‘z’ in it somewhere?

we try to fill the soft spots with softer stuff…thinking it will work…

it all boils down to a simple question…to ask yourself

“AM I EXCITED EVERYDAY ABOUT WHAT I DO?”

if the answer was hesitant…or had a question mark at the end of it…was “Most of the time“…or “I have to think about this“…reread chapter 1 of your life…and  Hell Yeah

I have always believed that once I had all of the tools…both literally and figuartivly…and I knew clearly…WHAT I WANTED …(not to be confused with what I don’t want…as knowing what I don’t want does not mean I know what I want)…then I could accomplish anything…anywhere…anytime…

Here are the lists I made to get here today:

  1. “THINGS I REALLY WANT AND REALLY WANT TO BE  DOING”
  2. Decide what’s real…and unreal…My unreal… was going back to the university for an MFA to be a teacher at a university at 55 years old…I crossed that right off of the list….
  3. The Real Tools, (tangible)  I need…ex. laptop, video camera, Westfalia Camper Van…etc….
  4. The Real Tools I have…
  5. The Ether Tools, (smarts and skills) I need…ex. education,  business skills  , etc….
  6. The Ether Tools I have…
  7. Build the tool box..start the project(s)….and make sure  I start the projects long before I have the tools so I can keep adding the “Right” tools

there is something about working hard on an idea or project even if you have only part of the tools…as what we need usually arrives when we need it… “The harder/smarter we work…the luckier we become

Most of us…who are trying hard to be right or fill in the soft spots with softer stuff…are also probably working in the… “THE WHAT YOU ARE WILLING DO”… position rather than from the  “I CAN DO ANYTHING…ANYWHERE….ANYTIME”… place….

and spending far to much time on making certain every “i” is dotted and “t” crossed…might indicate an enormous suggestion….but bottom line… if it’s not “HELL YEAH“….well…..nothing else really matters….

“I’m not wise, but the beginning of wisdom is there; it’s like relaxing into – and an acceptance of – things.” – Tina Turner

Leave a Reply

