595. March 8th….”I moved here for the weather”…or that’s at least what I say….

"Inspiration" ©2012 Robert Redus

“No man is happy without a delusion of some kind. Delusions are as necessary to our happiness as realities.” – Christian Nestell Boyee

There are many reasons to do just about everything…and all of those reasons are easily justified so we can basically live with our choices and decisions….otherwise…bad decisions kind of end in…bad results…bad choices keep you married to the wrong choice of sweethearts and still working as a copier salesman….hoping for something better and bigger somewhere down the road…

there comes a time in life…hopefully in all of our lives that we adopted the…”Network”…credo…you know the one..”I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take it anymore”…and I’m not talking about the state of affairs…or who’s going to be the next puppet…I mean president…or Rush Limbaugh…or oil prices…or the wars…or all of the bullshit we can find to distract ourselves..from…ourselves…and fail to admit…that in the greater picture…life is generally a bowl of well stirred…wonderfully prepared…precisely flavored….complacency….with a side of mildly spicy delusion… that you can either take out…or eat in…

now I know you are saying at this point…”Not my life”…and of course…not your life…let’s proceed…shall we?

we live in a state that has…as of July 2011 a population of….2,082,224…..there are 46 Wal-Mart stores in New Mexico…that includes the palatial Superstores and leave us not forget the ever popular Sam’s Club…there are 26 Family Dollar Stores in Albuquerque…Dollar General has 6 locations…Dollar Tree has 15 stores….5 Big Lots….4 Ross Dress for Less…within 6 miles of my house there are 27 Pawn shops….3.6 miles from where I live I can get 17 car title loans…not to mention the myriad of “DISCOUNT STORES on almost every corner of every major intersection in the city…

New Mexico:

Debt per capita: $6,594 (17th)
Unemployment rate: 8.3% (22nd)
Home price change (2006-2009): 14% (6th)
Median household income: $43,028 (40th)

A full 18% of New Mexico’s population is below the poverty line. The state also has the sixth-worst violent crime rate, with 656 violent crimes per 100,000 people.( statistics from The Atlantic )

I awakened the other morning asking myself if I could survive eating just one cracker per day…my answer was clearly…”No I could not for any great length”…although….”I could survive…but for how long and why would I want to?”….that same dialogue fortunately  has surfaced at an opportune time in my “Art Career”….as paintings continue to stack up…and my philosophy on sales remains as effervescent as my ever-present smile and outlook…my new art mantra is being replaced by a more realistic and reasonable mantra…I will continue on in the words of Bob Dylan to….”Keep on keeping on”…( not the new mantra by the way)….but keeping on in a much more realistic…less delusional….considerably more complacent free direction….I mean after all…who needs fine art when you can go to the plethora of dollar discount stores and buy something close to something close that kind of looks like something your grandma once told you she saw in an art museum before you were born in 1963….oh and have it semi professionally framed at maybe Michaels…or even Hobby Lobby…buy one get the other for half price with …. 40% off coupons…only valid between March 9-13…not accepted with any other discounts or current in-store specials…. I’m just saying….

this new found…rather obvious epiphany….has been hanging on like a low-grade headache…or a flu virus waiting for a cinch in the system to become something really spectacular….something that much like the….test results coming back positive…or a trip through the windshield at 75mph…ignites the self-preservation gene and starts the process back into momentum rather than the treadmill walk mentality…if you know what I mean…something about walking and getting nowhere….anyway…

Art is not the easiest of lives…but by far the best of lives possible…as a friend I once had said about just about everything that mattered….here’s what he said… “Robert it is all about one thing….and that one thing is:

LOCATION, LOCATION,LOCATION”…..

I said… “That’s 3 things”…but I got it….

any ideas on the new mantra?

“No one should drive a hard bargain with an artist.” – Beck

2 thoughts on “595. March 8th….”I moved here for the weather”…or that’s at least what I say….

  1. ewwww don’t buy at discount stores or dollar stores. Only SOMETIMES you can find a treasure at a second hand store that no one has any idea what it is but me and I start to dance. I do not have a poker face, or body! Keep on Keepin on Robert? Big Kisses from Florida!

    Like

  2. I don’t buy from discount stores…I do support thrift stores…Albq….is a discount haven…everything is very depressed and the mentality on a whole is about the deal…not necessarily the quality. I am narrowing down my life to very few tangibles…far too complicated…I hope you are well…

    Like

Leave a Reply

