12.31.12…What a difference a day makes….it’s all in the attitude!

islands

“Islands”©2012. Robert Redus

“The absence of flaw in beauty is itself a flaw.”

Somehow the year accelerated to today, the 31st of December. I don’t know if the older I get the faster the time goes by or if there is something else that it is happening, I’ve yet to figure out. Nevertheless, it’s going to happen. It reminds me of a bumper sticker I once saw that read:

“Jesus is coming…look busy”

Reflecting back on 2012, it was pretty certain with few exceptions….I don’t want to sound like I wear nothing but brown clothes everyday of the year. Exceptional things only happen if  1.) You decide to make exceptional things a part of your life.  or 2.)You hand the wheel to someone else and end up where they are going, doing what they are doing and hope that 10-50 is not in the equation. My year was exceptional for what exceptional initiatives I put forward . Most of us would rather watch the alligator wrestling than be wrestling with the gator.

I refined my bucket list this year, and after entering a pie eating contest (#3 on the list) in Pietown New Mexico, coming in 15th place, I realized that writing down what I want to do then checking it off  is much like the 2 years…that’s right 2 years we spend sitting at traffic lights throughout our lives…..So no more bucket list….1-100….just sort of adopted the attitude that I should do what inspires me…take this exceptional life and…live it exceptionally….

So with the new year creeping up on us like a new pair of briefs…we have the what am I going to do with myself reflection asking us…”So what are you going to do with yourself”…I suggest you answer…”Absolutely Nothing”….as planning the fiery car wreck in advance, takes all of the suspense and intrigue out of all of the possibilities.

My New Year’s Resolutions are….none, sure I sat at breakfast with Sue this morning thinking about what I want to do, when in reality  I should be resolving not to repeat what I didn’t want to do last year….so yes, my resolution is exactly that….hands in the air, resolving not to repeat any part of last year but the good stuff….and then I have to decide if repetition of the good stuff is really worth the effort.

On another note….my canned answer for 2013 is, “I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take it anymore, but I’m willing to be proactive”…sort of a combination of rebellious concern with emphasis on solution.

I became 56 this year and of course I reflected on what I’ve forgotten, what I know, what I think I know, what I’d like to learn and what I am hoping to do with all of this knowledge and forgotten knowledge. As I have lived more life than I probably have left to live, what matters really matters a great deal more than ever before, so yes I will demand a diet Dr. Pepper over a Diet Coke, and don’t try for one second to convince me that medium rare and well down are pretty close. So I guess what I am saying is I understand why older people get pissed off and are sometimes difficult to deal with; and it’s not because they are demanding but they want what they want with little exception, we just add the word ‘Old” to the mixture and it gives a reason. Now how wrong is that.We’ve all sat at the table debating on having the waitperson, notice the politically correct format) take the food back because _____________. and in younger years maybe just debated rather than acted. Yet now….I’ll walk it back to the kitchen myself…..no problem….As we all know, 56 is old to some, young to others so maybe it really isn’t age at all…it’s entirely attitude…We should be,  A okay with that,  these are lightbulb moments. we can genuinely say…..”I will” or “I won’t”, then fill in the blank with the stuff we will or won’t do and feel damn good about the end result, even if we decide to change that will or will not at any given time.

My prayer is, Jesus….could you give  a little notice before you arrive, I really want to make sure I’m busy doing what I want to be doing….Thanks…Robert

“A new scientific truth does not triumph by convincing its opponents and making them see the light, but rather because its opponents eventually die, and a new generation grows up that is familiar with it.” – Max Planck 

One thought on “12.31.12…What a difference a day makes….it’s all in the attitude!

  1. Pingback: 1.01.2013 The New Year inventory, How it can work for you, and Finding Your passion. « Robert in Motion

Leave a Reply

