It “Ain’t” always “Small” that makes a town small….

“With the possible exception of the equator, everything begins somewhere.”

I’ve discovered I’m enjoying small town living…I’m already waving at people on my evening walk and know Earl from Dave…I even gave directions this afternoon…leaning into the car…saying things like… ” follow the road down there, stay right and turn at your first right…go 7 miles”….and I do it like I really know what I am talking about….but that’s not the reason…

I like the small town feel mostly for…what you want is not always there to get…and that works really well for me…

I needed coat hangers today….after the A and B decision were made….trajectory mattered…

43-400key[1]

now in a city you drive over to the “Dollar Store”…..strap on the hand sanitizer holster while wading through a sea of diapers littering the parking lot…scrape the gum you just stepped in….off your shoe…on the curb….try and read the graffitti…scrawled on the sidewalk…have a little stare down with the small child….seated in the shopping cart…who clearly has an upper respiratory tract infection…and no one in the family is willing to put tissue to nose…wait in line behind someone who is counting out 89 cents in pennies and a few nickles….and then realizes they have a coupon to use…and finally pay for….the 10 for a buck coat hangers and are immediately accosted by the guy standing outside that is either really trying to grow dreads or is really not trying to….but yet he is….who is standing in the parking lot holding a large empty pickle jar….and he really wants to ask a question…or make a statement…or….maybe just talk….

Not here…that’s right…correct…not here….they just don’t have the coat hangers in stock and they won’t for maybe a few weeks….and I take a deep sigh of relief…look around…in a slightly upward direction….as if I’m going to point to the heavens in a “#1” gesture and mouth something sacred….but instead….I shake the clerk’s hand who just told me the coat hanger news and say… “God…I can’t thank you enough…you think it might be 2…maybe three weeks before you get some?” …”Yes sir” he responds….and I think what could be better…

better than this…BP still at 120/40….plaques resting quietly far…far away….

Oh there’s graffiti here…even crime…and maybe even a few people who had misdemeanor arrests in the 1970’s…

but the pace is like living  in a really small house…where 5 books takes up a wall…and more is always more…while less fills the place like helium….I discovered today…coat hangers are really cool…..when they were wire I had a lot of fun with them…and they were even cooler….

but today….I’ll mark my calendar for three weeks from today…and write…. “Pick Up Coat hangers at Hardware”……by then I might really need something else…..who knows

“All that a city will ever allow you is an angle on it,  an oblique, indirect sample of what it contains, or what passes through it; a  point of view.”

2 thoughts on “It “Ain’t” always “Small” that makes a town small….

  1. I understand Paula, this small town living is great, increases the sense of living from urgency yet really makes me see much of what I think I need….I don’t at all…at any time.
    I hope you are well. Say hi to the Governor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

