I Gotta Testify…..

"My Little Gunner"©2013 Robert Redus

“My Little Gunner”©2013 Robert Redus

“You know, lieutenant, you wear your weapon the way other women wear pearls.”

All couples have songs….my sweety and I are no different…we just have a kind of…”Different” song…we sing to one another….Ours happens to be a 1940’s classic by none other than…you bethcha…..Vaughn Monroe…and I’m sharing it…well because I’m sort of testifying…

I’m 57 this year…that is a monumental accomplishment for people who die in their 20’s, 30’s, 40’s and less than 57’s…I mean…I realize getting to a particular age is only an accomplishment if….the process of getting there was like pulling your fingernails out with…rusty pliers…or holding your breath for more than 3 minutes in 66 degree water…but nevertheless…getting to this place in my life has been interesting…I’ll just leave it at that…

What I’ve really learned along the way are some pretty powerful things…and things that sure some of you are going to probably say… “I already knew that, and that one…oh and that one, who doesn’t know that” …and if that is the case…perhaps closing the pie hole…turning on the television and praying for a few reruns of Magnum PI will be better for you than reading this blog……I’ll wait…..

I’ve discovered through these…almost 57 years…2 of the most important things…I have been working with…that’s correct…TWO  and only 2…but I’ll get there in a bit…

So today the world has…lost some  people…gained some people…has seen some good decisions…some bad decisions..seen some stuff that some people have said… “Hell yes”…while others have said…”You’ve got to be kidding, how’d that happen”…some people smiled more than before…while others grimmiced…like never before…some people were cured from diseases…and still others got diseases…for everything that happened today…there are those who thought it was great while others thought it was the worst…people excelled…people declined…peopled walked…people lost the ability to walk…some could see…others could not…some were…born…killed…celebrated birthdays…circumcised…beaten…lost their virginity…ate something new for the first time…fell in love…learned to hate…saw the same…defined differences…were afraid…triumphant…were constipated and had raging diarrhea…and it’s all going to happen exactly the same way tomorrow…and the following day and long past anything you will ever be…that being said…

it makes you want to say:

and the answer is…there is not a thing you or I or anyone can do about this ceespool…call me complacent…cynical…even misguided…but really….whatchu talking about….how you gonna change this…pray… march against everything….pay off your congressman…form a big Sub Chapter S corporation…sponsor a children’s beauty contest…wear argyle socks….there is nothing…nada…zip…that you or I can do about it…so my little pretties…here are the 2 most important things

El primero:

You can always get other people to believe your bullshit…almost all of the time

and Numero dos:

Never, ever believe your own bullshit any of the time

Where we are…well is where we are….we didn’t get here by accident…so if it’s the….second coming…global warming…or all of the pancakes you can eat special at Denny’s on Friday night…get your bullshit out there….get them believing it…and find a special song that means something for God’s sake….something that will get you off your ass and up….Testifying…

oh…and if you can’t figure it out…fall in love with it…..

“If you do not change direction, you may end up where you are heading.”

One thought on “I Gotta Testify…..

  1. Captain Crunch getting jiggy! Oh my,,,, When was your birthday? Did I miss it? Happy 57! So much life out here. I opened my eyes on my birthday. LOVE!

    Like

Leave a Reply

