Behind the Wheel

The worst enemy of life, freedom and the common decencies is total anarchy; their second worst enemy is total efficiency.” Aldous Huxley

I’m not really certain about the landing place for me. I can tell you it has  much to do with “The Road”, the adventure that always waits on the porch for you to come home. You know, that place that is uncertain in a kind of wonderment way. Have you ever taken a trip with no map, no directional device to get you there? That’s what I’m talking about. Just road, vehicle, you, enough water, gas and food to get you, “There”, where ever, “There”,  might be. Sounds overly romantic and irresponsible…c’mon, you have a mortgage, credit card bills, all of those things that have to be done before anything else gets considered. 

I’ve recently taken to to carrying in my car, a, “Bugout Bag“, along with a sleeping bag, a Camprest mat, my favorite pillows, some Mezcal Vago Elote and all of the goodies to make a killer cup of coffee basically on demand, oh and of course something to eat! This way, I can stop, sleep, drink coffee, mescal, have a sandwich and enjoy a great time looking at the stars for a few hours. 

My last drive, was home to New Mexico through the back roads of Nevada, Utah and Arizona. To say it was spectacular is an understatement. The journey changed me, solidified my feelings of adventure, place and the things I must do to keep a real smile on my face. Here are a few of the reasons:

img_3159

This is at near Gypsum Creek in Utah

img_3177

Rodeo Trophy Buckles, in a pawn shop, Gallup, New Mexico

bryce

Bryce Canyon

jewelry-01

Zuni and Navajo Bracelets at the Gallup Flea Market

I started reading Edward Abbey, I can only imagine he would have been wonderful to take a road trip with.

Latest:

Just got home from 2 weeks in Palm Springs. I am working my jewelry magic at the Palm Springs Thursday night VillageFest. If you are heading to Palm Springs, make it a point to come by and see me, and stop at this restaurant in Flamingo Hills, La Copine….the food is great.

Please take a few moments to share where you’ve been, where you want to go, what you want to do….I’d love to hear from you.

Be safe, stay between the lines as much as you can, live harder than the serious stuff that’s completely unimportant, tell those you love, you love them often and most of all hug the adventure like nobody’s business!!!  

“You can’t study the darkness by flooding it with light.” Edward Abbey

Leave a Reply

